Aim for the problem instead of the surprise

Agustin Tormun
2 min readFeb 25, 2022
Photo by Olav Ahrens Røtne on Unsplash

I used to have this boss who always was telling me to approach him with a problem instead of a surprise. Up to this day, I find a lot of value on that principle. Due to the full remote jobs, many of us have had to adopt asynchronous and more fluid communication. I’ve been watching a lot of people struggle to communicate when making a mistake or having trouble accomplishing a task.

Raise your hand and speak immediately

When a problem was presented to me and I got stucked, my first thought was that it was due to my lack of knowledge so I would start researching, learning and finding a solution for what I needed to solve. That’s a good approach, we can’t depend all the time on others, that way we wouldn’t learn anything, but my mistake was I didn’t announce my situation. I just kept quiet and got to work. Suddenly, if the deadline approached and the time began to run out, I would tell my boss and that’s when the surprise came. My advice is to tell someone immediately, sure, you can tell you’re working on solving the problem but it is important that someone acknowledge and follow up on it.

Talking about it can save your time or solve your problem

When people talk about their problems it’s possible they get another insight of the…

--

--

Agustin Tormun

My thirst for knowledge knows no bounds. I'm a perpetual student, hungrily absorbing everything from history's whispers to the latest technological sorcery.