It’s okay to go against the trend

Agustin Tormun
3 min readDec 21, 2020
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

I have a 9 to 5 job, fixed schedule, a boss who’s telling me what to do and most important I’m working for someone else’s dream and… I like it! Am I broken? Absolutely not.

I spend a lot of time reading about productivity, minimalism, financial freedom and how to live happily. I like it, I find it quite interesting.

Lately I’ve been finding patterns, some phrases or topics many authors in this genre talks about that doesn’t seem to fit with my point of view. They talk about how they left their corporate job and started working for no one but themselves.

I tried that a few years ago but realized it wasn't for me, I didn’t enjoy it so I returned to my 9 to 5. Does that mean I’m doing something wrong? Maybe I can’t be like all the people I enjoy reading? I don’t think so. Here are some reasons why I chose to work for someone else.

Dreams are sticky

One of the main things people who write the articles I’ve been talking about says is that we should stop working for someone else’s dream and start pursuing our own. When I started working at my current job, I was kinda in a dark hole, not knowing what to do with my life, confused and with blurry purposes. When I got the chance to talk with my current boss, he told me about the dream of the founder of the company, the vision and the…

--

--

Agustin Tormun

My thirst for knowledge knows no bounds. I'm a perpetual student, hungrily absorbing everything from history's whispers to the latest technological sorcery.