Please, Let Me Live A Simple Life

Agustin Tormun
4 min readAug 10, 2022
Photo by Hudai Gayiran on Unsplash

I am coming up on two months since I got laid off. I thought that the economic problems happening in my country would not affect me so directly. I was focusing on doing things right at my job. It would be ok.

How wrong I was. I still relive that phone call with my boss at that time. When he gave me the news, I felt a squeak in my ears as if someone had put my life on mute. It is not pleasant news, it is hard to digest, but all was not lost.

A new beginning

I had been unhappy at work for a few months now. Even though I had a good position, accompanied by a good salary, it was not what I wanted for my life. I guess it was only a matter of time before I quit. I think the situation got ahead of me.

I decided to take it as a sign. On my scale of values, the time and company of my loved ones rank much higher than money or recognition in the professional world. It was time to heed the scale and pursue what was most important to me.

In search of motivation

It was time to decide what I would do to have some income. As simple as I wanted to live, I would need money. Regardless of whether it’s a lot or a little, I had to find a way to make a living without compromising the values I now want to prioritize.

--

--

Agustin Tormun

My thirst for knowledge knows no bounds. I'm a perpetual student, hungrily absorbing everything from history's whispers to the latest technological sorcery.