You should always ask for the discount

Agustin Tormun
2 min readFeb 16, 2022
Photo by Artem Beliaikin on Unsplash

Many discounts are hidden in plain view and we didn’t even notice, so gather around and bring the popcorn because I will try to prove my point with a few short stories. Are you all ready?

✈️ The airline discount

My cousin used to work selling tickets on an aeroline. One day a man bought flight tickets for his whole family. It was a big family, a total of six tickets. The amount this guy had to pay was a bit high…but he knew the hack.

– Ok sir, the total will be <set any big amount here>

– Sure, no problem. Can I have a discount?

That’s right people, this guy asked for a discount! Without having any argument why he asked for it or not even sure if he was going to get it, he just asked. At this moment my cousin thought of answering with a negative, but instead, curiosity stung her and told her manager the situation. A few minutes later the guy was buying his tickets with a whole 10% discount.

🍕 The pizza discount

This past weekend I went to buy a pizza for me and my wife. When I was about to order, the guy who was attending me told me about the promotions (please note that promotions are not the same as discounts) I wasn’t interested in any of those so I just ordered my pizza and when I got the…

--

--

Agustin Tormun

My thirst for knowledge knows no bounds. I'm a perpetual student, hungrily absorbing everything from history's whispers to the latest technological sorcery.